On Friday the 13th

The Stress Management Center and Phobia Institute estimates that more than 17 million people are affected by a fear of this day. It’s been estimated that $800 or $900 million (U.S.) is lost in business on this day because people will not fly or do business they would normally do. A study published in The British Medical Journal (1993) has shown that there is a significant increase in traffic-related accidents on Friday the 13ths.

What a silly race of humans we are. Don’t people realize that we made up this whole Gregorian calendar? Don’t they realize that Friday the 13ths are the timely coincidence of a decision by some Monks a bunch of years ago? I guess I shouldn’t expect rationality from the species who calls Miss Cleo one of its own.

miss_cleo.jpg

I am going to take a few steps to protect myself from the crazy people who make such a big deal of this day. Firstly, I will commute home at 120mph. Less time on the road means less chance one of these spooked kooks will rear-end me. Secondly, I am going to call Miss Cleo. I dunno, it just makes me feel warm and fuzzy. Lastly, I plan on hobbling through the hallways of the hospital in which I work, holding an oil lantern and wearing an eye patch, screaming that I need 13 gunnyswaggers to sail with me to the abyss of Zeragon.

~ by wcuk on July 13, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
