Oh where, oh where has my little Will gone,

Oh where, oh where can he be
With his ears cut short and his tail cut long
Oh where, oh where can he be?

I have been a pseudo hermit lately.  Blog post frequency is down.  The number of emails to friends has dropped precipitously.  Bags under the eyes are growing. Coffee/day ratio is growing. Bedtime has been extended to 2AM. The culprit?

I was at the vet getting my ears cut short and my tail cut long, of course.

Hahahahahahaha. Hahahahahaha. Ha. Ha?

Actually, I have been wasting my days and nights trying to do what I thought would be a simple task.  I have a computer.  I have 8 processors. I wanted to get a parallel computing grid running on these processors. For the computerilliterate, I wanted to get my code to run 8 times as fast as it does now.

Barf.

That was me barfing at the experience of this little project.  Nothing works “out of the box” in advanced, scientific computing.  Programs must be hand compiled on a command line.  Cryptic errors outnumber the  successful messages.  The most banal instructions turn into hours of troubleshooting.  Sorry, authors of grid computing software, sorry I did not get a degree in Linux kernel hacking to install your software.

Barf.

That was a pre barf. I’m pre barfing because I have made little progress towards getting this to work and thus still have hours of the code war ahead.  Giving up is not an option now.  The payoff of this project will, nay, must be sweet.  I will not rest until my room is a glowing furnace of computer processor heat.  I will, mark my words, roast marshmallows on the fiery maelstrom of processor cycles that shall speweth forth like the mighty river Styx.

Barf.

That was a barf on your behalf, because if I ever get this working, I will probably write a long, boring technical blog post about it (so that I may spare others from similar strife).  Expecting lolcats and my usual fluffy banter, you will physically gag should you happen upon said post.  If said post never appears, I have either been defeated or am too disgusted with the process to spend the time to write it up.

My thoughts on defeat, you ask? I’ll quote Drago on this one,

If he dies, he dies.

~ by wcuk on April 14, 2008.

One Response to “Oh where, oh where has my little Will gone,”

  1. You’re quoting the wrong guy. You should be saying: “Maybe the only thing I can do is just take everything he’s got. But to beat me, he’s going to have to kill me. And to kill me, he’s gonna have to have the heart to stand in front of me. And to do that, he’s got to be willing to die himself. I don’t know if he’s ready to do that.”

Leave a Reply

 
