Weezer’s Heart Songs punishes your will to listen

Devotees of the blog will know I am a big Weezer fan.  Their new Red Album has shattered my hopes for the band’s future.  The catchy sounding track  Heart Songs tugs extra hard at my patience.

I could write a nice analysis to deconstruct the song.  Nothing tells the story better than the lyrics themselves.  To call this teenage poetry would be a gross insult to teenage poets everywhere.  I’ve seen more respectable verse on myspace comments.

When reading, watch closely for the part where they rhyme “on” with “on,” and also, “on it” with “on it.”

Excerpt from Heart Songs:

Back in 1991 I wasn’t having any fun
’til my roommate said “come on” and put a brand new record on
Had a baby on it, he was naked on it
then I heard the cold words that broke the chains I had up on me
got together with my bros at some rehearsal studios
then we played our first rock show and watched the fanbase start to grow
signed the day
made a record all our own
a song comes on the radio and now people go “This is the song”

Shame, Weezer.  You could be so much more than this.

~ by wcuk on June 11, 2008.

One Response to “Weezer’s Heart Songs punishes your will to listen”

  1. I think this should be put in the “Get Off My Lawn” category. Weezer peaked at the Blue Album and it was all downhill from there. Green had some kick, Maladroit was the plagued man in Monty Python and the Holy Grail being carried to the corpse wheelbarrow saying, “I’m not dead yet!” and Red is the nail in his coffin.

    Unfortunately, that’s the price you pay for being a geezer. Things are never as good as they used to be.

Leave a Reply

 
