Summer Nights and Summer Days

Another summer works its way to an end.  The nights of cycling and friends and song yield to a new routine.  I’m not ready to give it up yet.  I want to listen to Matt Pond and drink toasted lager.  I want to leave lab a few minutes early to milk the daylight and ride my bike to familiar places. At night I want to take walks and get bug bites and curse the passage of another summer day.  I stay up too late and reflect more than I should on the value of this time.  I’ll sleep more when I’m less content on grabbing what remains of these fading summer days.

Open your windows and listen:

Everything you want to be
I can’t wait to see you be
Everything there is for me
I want you to want for me
These images I want to see
I want them to be there for me
These images, are for you
I wanted you to see them too
In the light
Hold them up in the light

~ by wcuk on September 9, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
