Ahoy

Hello! I had to stop posting for a while there to make good on my “85% fewer updates” badge in the header.  Amazingly, several hundred of you still visit this blog every day.  I’m not sure if that is good in a loyalty sense, or bad in the “the only people that read this are bots” sense.

Times, they are a changing here at wcuk.  I’ve been neck deep in my research and waist deep in cyclocross.  The denizens of Harvest Moon had our final evening of karaoke with DJ Milky Manchester last week.  I’ll write more on this sad passing in a future post.  Don is on the fast track to a thesis defense (1 month! I guess I finally have a deadline for a tribute post).  I still owe Mike an IWJIFOASTTSY post too.  I may even have a few more IWJIFOASTTSYs to write beyond these two. Don’t ask for a time line; I don’t have one.

I’m enjoying the change of pace that cyclocross has brought in to my life.  There’s a post on this in the pipeline too. I managed to win my first race in ten years of bicycle racing.  It wasn’t a raod race, and it wasn’t the A (or B) category, but damned if it wasn’t refreshing after a season of bad crashes and short luck.  It meant a great deal to me to do it in front of my teammates, especially Don, Charlie, Mike, and Mark.  They’ve pressured this stubborn mule to ride cross for three years.  I have no better way to thank them than to ride like it’s going out of style and cheer for them to do the same.

That’s all for now.  For those who are in to such things, we’re on twitter: www.twitter.com/rutgerscycling

 

~ by wcuk on November 10, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
